Where have I been?

So it’s been over four months since I’ve written any unique content for this blog. Oops. Since then, the semester ended, I spent some time learning at Yeshivat Chovevei Torah, Yeshivat Maharat, and Mechon Hadar. I did a two month Facebook detox. I also injured my ankle (it’s a long story involving a shark, scented candles, and 100 Emily Dickinson poems.)

During this time, I’ve been largely bored. I’ve studied for tests when they came up, written the assigned papers, and read the required reading. I’ve been doing everything I’ve had to do, spending my time on things that are both urgent and important. But, surprisingly, a lot of growth happens on tasks that are important but not urgent. I’ve been skimping on the personal edification, the creative projects, the for-fun inquiries. Instead, I’ve watched four seasons of Parenthood, all of Broad City and Girls, and a bunch of indie films. I’ve taken more personality tests than I care to admit–and spent time typing the people in my life–though I still haven’t figured out what to do with a B.A. in English. I Googled embarrassing things in Hebrew–and I now know the monikers for many more religious affiliations in Israel than I knew existed–so at least I was practicing?

I want to try and hold myself accountable for writing more blog posts, creating over consuming. I’m open to your suggestions of new things I should be trying, researching, and writing about. I know I’d appreciate the small nuggets of distraction (or production, depending on how you look at it) during the next three weeks of papers and studying. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts.
~Rivka

Leave a Reply

